search

Author Topic: English beer trip  (Read 1598 times)

Offline Irreverend Joe

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Malt Liquor
« on: January 12, 2008, 08:07:12 PM »
I got back from a two-week trip to southern England recently, and while I was over there I got to sit in a number of several-hundred-year-old pubs with fireplaces big enough that you can sit and drink INSIDE them, although your clothes and hair will smell like wood smoke for the rest of the day.  (Actually, they’ll do that even if you don’t sit in the fireplace if it’s winter – apparently central heating is optional for the country pubs.)  Sadly, I found that cask ale just isn’t for me – it’s not the serving temperature, which is perhaps 50 degrees or so, or the very low carbonation levels, there’s something else to it that I just can’t describe.  Part of my issue with cask may be that since I started brewing a couple of months ago I find that I need to have beer with character, and cask ales, at least the eight or nine that I tried, are in my opinion pretty wimpy.  (I hope there are no CAMRA members on this board!)  I found very low levels of hops in everything I tried – the IPA’s ALMOST had enough hops to call them hoppy, but not quite.  There was something else about cask ale, too, that I can only describe as sort of a watery pucker.  Sorry, that’s the best I can do to describe it, I don’t think I’ve ever experienced that mouth feel in any other beers.